Are we living? Really?…

After a long absence, I intended to write on this topic which stuck me during the ‘JOB-SEARCH’ phase of my life.

Not just me, many must have pondered about this topic, especially when they could not place themselves in the most needed position – the most satisfying, a dream-venture, more than just passion, which gives the much needed ‘Inner peace’.

I keep hearing this complaint from elders very frequently, that kids these days are not contended with what they have and that they are not much stable in a single job. I have a convincing reply to them. Earlier, there weren’t much choices left in the different streams of study, and all that they know have been either science, social, maths or arts.

The most brilliant becomes the doctor, the next most brilliant becomes and Engineer, then falls the category of Teachers and finally those who don’t fall in to any of the above category studies commerce and becomes an accountant, with least chosing to become a Police/Military professional.  Also, the number of available companies were less. So the options were narrower to shuttle between different companies, unlike now and hence 6 out of 10 people would have been in a Government job. Wider the options, higher the choices to make, just as now.

When the choices are much narrower, it is quite obvious that people have no career path or a goal to achieve in life. Their plans in life is to live a secured life with saving, a property of their own to support them and some jewels as immovable property. In short, this is what they feel is a secured life, and that which brings you happiness.

Seriously thinking, will this alone make a person happy? Or, as what they say, a malcontent person is always a malcontent person, no matter what. I was giving a thought what is real happiness for a person. I even started collecting my friend’s views regarding this. Many of my friends who thought that life centers around money found that wealth and the secured life (as mentioned previously) gives them real happiness.

Surprisingly, I too have known few who also are travelling their lives in a similar path as mine. Doing a job that can give them satisfaction, even if the pay is not super-high and doing things in their own way actually gives happiness. Many people have asked me what my goal is. Once I said I wanted to be in Research and achieve many things and serve the society with my little contributions. At one point, I was not able to sustain my career in research, though I never started hating to do Research.

Sometimes, even if there are no people supporting you on whatever decisions u take, always there are people around you to deprive you of your thoughts and put you down , making you feel so dumb and ashamed to have taken a new path unlike others in a field which has not much scope in your own country and that’s when you are not allowed to leave the country in the name of emotions, patriotism or whatever ! To those people, even the near and dear, who divest me of my powers to decide about my life and whoever says that it would be better if I had done an Engineering course and settle down in an IT concern – just as you wish, I say “Who gives you power to decide my life when I myself didn’t want to take chances. And for god-sake, its my life and I want to LIVE, not just survive, as you wish. To do as you wish, don’t poke in to others’ when you have your own to fix with…”

Yet, life does not end here. If not research, I never wanted to sit back and watch where life takes me, just like a normal southie girl, following her traditions and customs, I never wanted to settle in the name of marriage and be a home maker. If not research, I wanted to explore the various fields, some might be relevant to me and some are irrelevant even. Still, I joined as a normal employee in an MNC – so do they call it ­– a shift based job, doing some editing and my routine started. Sincerely, from my heart I don’t like this work. Yet, for the sake of somethings, I had to lead an adjusting life. And now I felt, its also important to be in jobs like this so that u can learn life better. Life doesn’t necessarily need to be a choosing process alone. More often, its just an elimination process. Only when u know what you don’t want to do in life, you will be at once clear what you should exactly do!! Now I am quite clear that I don’t want to survive any more but just LIVE, because I love my life.

As a closing note of this article, I finally found my goal, I say:

“Its not to wake up at 40’s with a bitter realization that I have wasted my life on a job I hate because I was forced to decide on a career in my teens”

We all have just one life and are we all doing justice to our lives? I give a damn about those who are not concerned!!! I, personally, want MY LIFE IN MY WAY!! So here, I start to search what I am longing for in life and will do my best to show that my career too is an awesome one to be in.

Afterall, every cloud has a silver lining and my career, too.

 

2 thoughts on “Are we living? Really?…

  1. I have gone thru almost entire biography of yours. I am quite impressed by your writing prowess. I would take your permission, as I am no one to polarize you on your decisions, to recommend you to express on the technical write-ups instead of just plain emotional write-ups, which are ubiquitously available all over the blog sites. And That would actually irradiate your research aptitude!

  2. True! Right now, I am going with the flow. But I have been seriously considering about the Technical-write-ups. Before that I am equipping myself with the subject knowledge so that I can be fair enough to share it in my blog. And, this is not about polarizing. I respect your suggestion as an advice to enhance my career too!

Leave a Reply

